Getting over an underbite

blogging my way through double jaw surgery

5 Weeks Away

I think at 5 weeks it’s close enough I can start counting down! In 5 weeks I’ll be in recovery in the hospital and the surgery will be done!

Other dates:

  • Nov. 21 – I am getting surgical hooks put on (just in time for Thanksgiving, yay!) :p
  • Dec. 4  – Pre-op appointment

In the meantime, I am trying out many no-chew options. I do pretty well with smoothies but have not tried many savory food options yet.

I tried some supplemental drinks out of curiosity. Verdict: not worth it. Here is my take on some specific ones:

  • Muscle Milk: Strawberries n Cream. possibly the nastiest drink I have ever tasted EVER. Tasted like chemicals.
  • Ensure: Vanilla High Protein Shake. Had a coupon so tried a pack. Tastes like hospitals and being sick, ew. Found out I can camouflage it by putting about a third of a bottle into a smoothie with many other things. I will use up my remaining bottles that way.
  • Special K: Vanilla Protein Shake. Less offensive than Ensure so I can manage to drink it straight if I have to. But I will be putting my remaining bottles from the pack into a smoothie to hide the taste.
  • Isopure Protein Drink. I can’t manage to drink much of this straight. Weird taste no matter the flavor. I tried it in smoothies as one of many ingredients and I didn’t notice the taste so much.
  • Core Power: Strawberry Banana. It actually tasted decent. Then I looked at the ingredients and realized I could make these at home just as easy and much cheaper.

My conclusion: added nutrients taste weird and are mostly unpalatable. I’m sure I will survive without them. I don’t want to waste any more money trying them out.

Other than getting food on hand for the liquid diet stage, I feel pretty ready at home. Work is another story.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “5 Weeks Away

  1. Hi, I’m just wondering do you plan to put on some weight prior to surgery given significant weight loss usually goes with the recovery phase?

    My double jaw surgery isn’t for a year but I’ve already started doubling my weight training and bettering my diet so I’m better prepared for the recovery phase. I may be taking things a little far though.. 🙂 Either way, it’s actually taking my mind off looking at the calendar every 20 seconds while I wait my turn!

    I hope all goes well with your surgery.

    • Aiden, I am trying to put on if I can. However I didn’t start trying until I had the go ahead for surgery. So I’ve only gained about two pounds. I’m also continuing to work out best I can (I have a sprained toe). Only can do what I can do.
      I can only think if it’s this slow gaining now, how slow will it be gaining back after surgery?

      • Actually, that possibly bodes well for you. People with high metabolisms tend to find it hard to put on weight. But, if you do have a high metabolism, you’re going to recover quicker as far as I know. So that might not be so bad. 🙂

Leave a comment